old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2011-12-24 : -
Doesn't it sometimes seem like you could do with advice from somebody wise? When you're lost, and you aren't really sure of which direction you should be headed in; when you look back and say, "man, that was some dumbass I was, right there,"; when you're trying to decide between the two brands of jam, even, and wishing that you could taste them both to decide which one's better.

I've got good news. There is somebody like that, and he/she is totally cool. Future You exists. He/she is ready to rock your need for some advice! Future You is waiting, right up that time stream, for you to get there and ask him/her those questions.

For now, though, you're on your own.

---

There are many things I wish I had known a few years ago.

Like about my headphones, for example. I wish Future Me had told me that those Creative EP-630 headphones that I thought were so excellent were actually rather mediocre. I could have been enjoying better headphones at the same price for 5 years!

Or that I shouldn't forget all my anatomy and physiology, (the biochemistry is okay, haha.) because it would come in really handy in the future (i.e. now).

But more seriously, there are a few things I wish I had known:

1. Go for class events, even though it's horrible to have to take public transport.
I wish I had gone for more playhouses. I wish I had played football. I wish I had gone down on Saturdays to play basketball. I wish I had studied more in the library. I wish someone had taken me aside and told me that these things were the gateway to having more friends. It's too late for that now, and it's a pity that I only realized this recently.

2. Don't always worry about offending other people. It's impossible to please everybody all the time.
I�m acutely aware of what people think from the way they react to what I say, and for a long time I've always tried not to say things that offend other people. I've tried to be neutral, and diplomatic wherever possible.

3. It's okay to let loose, and to learn to let loose. At the expense of being well-behaved, even.

4. Be more selfish.


This is tiring, and it makes me sad, so I'm not going to continue. There are many things I would have done differently, and questions that I still need answered.

When I look at other people who have more friends, and I look at the explosive fragmentation of the group of people I used to go out with, I sometimes wonder, why me? And I regret not getting to know other people better, and not knowing how I could have gone about knowing more great people.

This amongst other things, of course, but this most of all.

written at 1:20 a.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20