old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2011-05-30 : India Coda
Sometimes, it's hard not to say "I told you so".

I know I plan too much and you guys think I'm OCD about planning.

When stuff happens that I mentioned, everybody does their best to ignore it and will have forgotten about it by the next trip. I never get any acknowledgement or thanks. When I do, I'm never sure if people are patronizing me. Even if it seems to be sincere, there's often a (unintended) faint harmonic of disgust and frustration. Disdain, even.

It was tiring having to plan back-up for everything and oversee everything. Mentally tiring. Reminding people of stuff to do etc etc.

It was worse having to do it for people who didn�t appreciate the effort that went into it and the possible circumstances. Perhaps they were simply tougher, more prepared to brave the forces of untamed India than we were. Perhaps they simply had deeper pockets. Whatever it was, it was tiring having to plan stuff and take snark at the same time.

Particularly the outburst about not asking them to plan anything.

At the end of the day, good planning is invisible, because it means that stuff goes smoothly. Not wasting time wondering what to do next, waiting around wondering how to get to places, spending hours waiting for transit and other stuff, paying less, having more time. I could go on and on.

It's precisely the sort of thing that people like yourselves don't see, and don�t appreciate. Can't fully appreciate, perhaps.

I'm not trying to make myself out to be a dramatic, tragic, overworked figure who magically smoothed over all the obstacles and single-handedly planned everything.

It doesn't matter much anyway. I'll be laughing about this in future, maybe. Short memories.

I just wanted to say that good planning is an art.

written at 11:28 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20