old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2010-05-09 : -
Sometimes I have a strong urge to unload my sense of futility and stress onto other people, but so far it's seemed that other people are much more resilient. Whenever I try to do it they either shrug it off or just ignore it. I don't know whose failing it is, really. Anyway.

Hypertension list: Stress from planning USA trip and trying to study for paeds at the same time. Cost of USA trip stuff. Fitting stuff into USA trip into available time. Worry about finding a good car company and not getting ripped off too badly. Stress about paeds. After my traumatic run-in with the pharmaco department, I've noticed a sort of post-traumatic stress disorder. Whenever someone in tutorial says something that I've never heard before, I have a transient stress reaction that includes tachycardia and a sudden sympathetic discharge, accompanied by a quick feeling of fear and panic. It's not good. Maybe it'll make me a better doctor.

The side effect is that my empathy has decreased significantly since paeds wk4,which is when I started being able to study less because I had to plan this usa trip thing. So I guess you could say the USA trip is the main cause of my stress. Mm.

Perhaps this is a quick look into what it'll be like when I'm overly stressed next time. Empathy is the first to go! Medical skills and bedside manner are preserved. Health is the next to go due to lack of sleep. After that I think it's a toss up between medical skills and alertness.

STRESS

written at 10:54 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20