old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



: Future Ideals
I don't want my future relationships to be a two-become-one sort of affair, I think. I'm going for more of a two well-oiled machines working in synergy to produce something more... Okay that didn't come out right, but that's the general idea. I mean, like you can take the two machines apart at any time and they'll function at the same level as they did before you set them to work together, but when you put them together they somehow do much more than the sum of their individual productions.

It's a very bad analogy, and it would seem to show that I am an inexperienced guy with ideas that have never been tested by the large sledgehammer that is reality, but I'm quite sure that this model of relationships is quite possible. I can't really confess to be in agreement with some people (SOME PEOPLE!) who are so far up each other's nostrils you can't really tell where one ends and the other begins. (that didn't quite come out right either, but I hope you get the general idea.)

I was thinking of something where two independent people with their own distinct personalities come together and share emotional support, love, feedback, resources, etc, and help each other to grow and become something more. It's more of a co-operative than a merger.

With a co-operative you have two parties working for mutual benefit! I may sound like I'm splitting hairs, quibbling, nitpicking, or making petty distinctions, but there is actually a difference.

Of course, it's entirely possible that I'm making a huge mistake and what I'm proposing is not actually a good working relationship, but if so, the alternative isn't much better to me. Perhaps what I'm proposing is supposed to be in addition to the living-in-each-other's-noses part. Anyway. I'm still doing feasibility studies and whatnot, so it's a work in progress. Check back in a few years!

written at

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20