old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2009-10-18 : Single?
I still find it rather surprising that people say that men marry women who are like their mothers. I guess it would depend a lot on what sort of relationship you had with your mother, wouldn't it?

Every time my mother and I have a disagreement, I feel less and less like ever getting married. It's scary what can happen to a person after years of marriage. I'm quite sure my mother wasn't like this last time.

It's hard to tell how a person will change after thirty or forty years, and if you'll still want to live with that person. Many of the people I've seen in relationships grow to become more like the person they're with. I find it disturbing that personal identity is so malleable.

If it can go one way, it can surely go another. I'm not sure I feel like placing that sort of bet.

In any case, I don�t think I'll be in the mood for any romancing when I get home from the hospital every day. Surely the other party will be tired from a day at work as well. When I start work, there'll be all sorts of frustrations and other stuff, and a high chance of spillover into personal life.

It's very interesting that my mother insists I will find someone (you'll just Know) and yet continues to be a source of evidence to the contrary.

written at 10:58 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20