old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2009-06-23 : Life's like poker
We both stand on the edge, the cold wind blowing through us.

Are you sure about this, he says. It's rather a-
-leap of faith?
That was really corny, he said. We're about to jump, and you can still stand around making lame jokes?
I shrug.
He grimaces slightly. After you, then.
I smile tightly. I spread my arms, and lean forward into the wind. I'm over the edge, and I begin to fall...

The alarm clock rings. It's 6am on a Tuesday morning. I rub my eyes, and stumble to the shower.

********


In some ways, life is like a game of poker... Some times you get a hand that isn't very good, but you just stick around and see if it gets better. Sometimes your hand seems great, but everything sours after you see the next cards.

If you're the big blind, you're not really at liberty to fold, because you've already got money in the pot. It's not much better being the small blind, either. Hold'em does this so that there's always some money in the pot. Life just does it because it's life.

It's hard to tell when you should just fold and let go, especially when your hand was initially very good and you put a lot of money in the pot, only to see the cards flip and favour someone else. It's not easy to let go of the cash you've already spent. But, if you stubbornly keep on, you might lose more than you would have by folding.

It's not always about the payday. Sometimes it's just about sitting down and having some fun. Sometimes it's about the thrill. The excitement.

It's always fun to win, at the end of the day, though.

I'd love to bring this analogy further, but I have to go shower and get some reading done. Therefore it ends here. Bye.

written at 10:50 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20