old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2009-06-16 : optional prccedural skills
Today I went for the procedural skills thing. One and a half glorious hours of pain and pain-causing! After I was symbolically poked as a sacrifice to the gods of successful IV cannulation, the ritual began in earnest...

I got blood from jojo one out of two times, but the first time apparently I went through the vein, and the second time I somehow missed the vein completely.

I went for the practice session because I always wonder how it feels to be on the other side of the doctor-ish knowledge. It's impossible to imagine how the patient feels! Cannulation is rather uncomfortable, especially if you hunt for the vein. Pull the plug out a bit, push it back in, aim off to the side a bit, try to hit the vein again.. And all the while the patient is wincing. Ugh.

As a souvenir, I have 3 puncture wounds on the back of my left hand.

Anyway. If nothing else, I'll be fast and careful when I try to cannulate a patient.

written at 4:02 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20