old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2008-10-18 : For one million dollars..
Who discovered Congenital Rubella Syndrome, and for a bonus 500k, what was his nationality?

No, seriously, if you can answer this question without referring to your notes, (with the exception of Edwin and myself) you, sir, are in a class of your own. Generations will remember your all-remembering brain years from now and in hushed voices whisper to each other 'how on earth did he do it?'

I'm quite sure that someone else actually bothered to memorize those two utterly useless facts. The only reason I still remember it is because Edwin and I were laughing when the guy said that Gregg was an aussie, and I wrote it down. It's just like the time he said rhino- refers to the nose because of the rhinoceros' big horn.. Even though it's not a nose, it looks like a nose (or reminds us of a nose?) and we were left sitting there to wonder whether he was serious or not, because you really can't tell when he's being serious, sometimes.

Yeah. I'm starting to understand why all those doctors who I had the good fortune to follow around on attachment before my application to med kept looking at me with the desperate eyes and say in the half-joking voice 'don't come to medicine!' At the time I thought it was some kind of running joke, but now I realize that the scary part is that they were only HALF joking.

I've said it before, and I'll say it again, I don't know how you can do this if you don't (a), love mugging like life itself, or (b), love learning about med stuff. If you came here thinking you'd have an unbreakable platinum rice bowl, my sincere condolences to you.

And now for something completely different.

Meh, anyway, I discovered something interesting the other day; another person who's not jaded and shares some of the views I hold. Uncommon beauty, indeed.

written at 10:52 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20