old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2008-08-24 : Necrotising Fasciination
Med school tends to be morbidly interesting, in more than one sense of the word. They show you disgustingly fascinating things like photos of necrotizing fasciitis and what parasites look like after they've been persuaded to remove their suckers from the insides of your GI tract. They show you pictures of people with tumours and other nasty stuff.

I'd say it's not for the squeamish, to say the least. Unfortunately I can't really claim to be totally un-squeamish, although the many times they've shown us pictures and other things, the 'wow! cool! Awesome!' factor has more-than eclipsed the eww factor.

I admit it, I love the excellent medical stuff that they show us! It's what keeps me going on some days. I love lecturers who make an effort to keep the lectures interesting, like MarkTaylor, whose dry humor and interesting pictures (Jalan Fun Wee Fuck, anybody? No, he seriously showed us a picture of a road with that name. No, my mistake, he showed us two. Couldn't stop laughing.) ensure that we don't burn out trying to understand his lecture.

I love medsch, and I know medsch loves me too, but please please please, medsch, don�t make me lose all my marbles before I graduate. <3

-------------------

It's sad, I never go out any more. The price of hesitation.

written at 12:08 a.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20