old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2008-08-06 : The Trials And Tribulations Of Jon Gan
I think I've driven more these three days than I do in a normal week. Great for rapid improvement in driving skill!

My sister sprained her ankle severely on Monday and came home with a humongous swelling over the lateral malleolus. Couldn't put any weight on it, so we scouted around for crutches. Got one crutch from aunty may.

Tuesday was like a driving decathlon. Wake up at 6.20am. Fetch mother to work. Go home. Wake up at 930 to bring sister to bedok polyclinic. Get referral letter from bedok polyclinic to CGH. Drive to CGH. Drive around underground carpark for 10 mins trying to find parking. Find parking. Go upstairs to find sister getting X-Ray done. Sister is pronounced OK by doctor. Drive home.

Today was some Amazing Race for me. Rough sequence of events went like this: Wake up at 6.10am. Fetch mother to work. Fetch sister from home (bedok) to RJC. Drop sister off at RJC. Encounter Roadblock! Jon Gan must park the car outside the general office and go in to get the wheelchair out for his sister. He must then wheel her a short distance up the ramp to where her friends are waiting. Finish roadblock. Drive home. (all the way from bishan!)

That's not all. I just made a trip to ulu pandan road side where blabla lent me his crutches. That's a 46km round trip. Long way, boy. And! There was a common corridor power failure, so I had to walk up 15 stories.. And when I got home, Inhouse had started. Without me. T.T

Included in the three-day package above was helping my sister to hobble around everywhere we went to. Hurhur.

At least my driving has improved though. Lane-cutting has improved tremendously, as has parking judgement. And the occasional horn blast directed at my fellow motorists who deserve it is immensely satisfying. (a taxi stopping immediately after a right turn at a junction? wth? I wasn't the only one to horn at him, either.)

Walked up 15 stories. Tomorrow I'll wake up a muscleman. Or maybe with aching thighs. You never know.

written at 11:36 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20