old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2008-06-01 : The Great Ant Disaster of 2008
Today I was watering the plants, when I realized that there was a rather long, haphazard trail of ants stretching from one end of the balcony to the other, spanning the line of plants. They were coming from the left side and going toward the right, using leaf bridges and making use of overlapping plant pots.

I also saw that one of the much-traversed aloe vera plants was dying/dead. I watered the plants, the dying plant, and the balcony copiously, creating a minor ant-disaster. Many ants were lost as the flood swept them over the Edge.

Even more ant infrastructure was lost as pots were moved by the Human, destroying ant bridges and overlapping flowerpot bridges.

I also sprayed insecticide in between pots, on the rims of pots, and into around the rim of the balcony.

After I finished, in my mind's eye I saw a small ant holding two small ants by the hands with one of them asking when they would be able to go home. I think the answer was something like 'we have no home to go back to, dear,' or something just as devastating.

= I think I have been very horrible to the ants. Pity you can't just put up some signs saying that the pots are Not For Habitation.

[edit] i just thought of this very bad joke. What do you call a dead edwin?

an edwon!

That will be all. [/edit]

written at 11:57 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20