old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2008-03-03 : the great mrt adventure
Just now when I was on the way back on the mrt, something interesting happened. The train was between tiong bahru and outram, and I was just about to fall asleep, when it began to slow down, and as it slowed down, it tilted 15 degrees to the right! It was quite scary. I woke up as the train slowed down cos it was tilted.

Anyway. The driver flipped the brakes on and off quite a few times. I think it was the brakes; it's the stuff that makes the clacking noise beneath the carriage.

It was rather interesting, because I thought the train had somehow derailed. And that I would have to walk through a dark tunnel to the next station. It was rather exciting imagining that. I was also wondering if they would have a shuttle service in place, and if they would pay for a cab for me.

Unfortunately, after a while, the train began to move again, albeit very slowly. The driver proceeded slowly until the track became level, and then slowly increased speed.

We got to the next station rather uneventfully, so that put paid to my grand ideas of being able to walk out the front of an mrt train. Rather disappointing if you ask me. Even if I did get home on time.

Oh well I suppose that I should be grateful that terrorists didn't somehow remove a rail from the underground or something.

written at 9:46 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20