old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2008-01-24 : philosophical beauty
If I think that I look nice but you think otherwise, do I look nice? Lots of things in life aren�t very well defined. Killing is wrong, but all our moral compasses are slightly differently aligned. If I kill someone who's dying to save someone else, is it still wrong? What if I could save two people by killing that one person? Is it still right? Can we quantify the worth of a human life and weigh people's lives against other people's lives?

It's a pretty pickle, no doubt about it.

For example. When we say that people don�t look nice, but other people think they look nice, does the person in question look nice or not? What decides whether you look nice? What if at first, 1 out of 100 people thought person A looks nice, but a few months later, person A looks exactly the, but 99 out of 100 people now think she looks nice. Does she look nice?

How much are these things common to everyone? Is there a true definition of nice?

Anyway, these questions are philosophical.

Yes, I'm temporarily emo.

written at 7:00 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20