old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2007-10-11 : moms + driving.
Hmm. I think of all the people I know, the person who has the best understanding of me is still my mom. When I was younger, I refused to believe a lot of the stuff she told me, purely because she was the one who said it. When I was older and slightly more mature and rational, I took a step back and looked at the stuff she said and found most of it was true.

I guess we�re all lucky to have parents to give us advice huh. HAHA! And if we didn�t have electricity we�d all be watching tv by candlelight.

No, but seriously, I think most of us with parents who could objectively be called decent and anything above take them for granted. I guess it�s not easy living with someone who always told you all the stuff you didn�t want to hear and was right when you didn�t them to be and lots of other stuff. There are always bad memories.

But if you were to look at other ppl�s mothers, they�re all (most of them anyway) admirable in their own way. It�s just that we�ve lived with our parents for so long that some of us can no longer look at them through objective lenses.

Anyway the point here is, don�t take your parents for granted.

********

Went for driving today, and my driving has improved A LOT. Fantastic. Mostly because I finally figured out the best way to change gear smoothly AND fast. All the previous methods I used were either smooth or fast. But I�ve discovered that if you concentrate more on the clutch than the accelerator, stuff goes pretty well. Means you can over press the accelerator, and as long as the clutch is removed smoothly it�s all good.

Add that to the fact that I�m now familiar with changing up and down from all the experimenting during previous lessons, and you�ve got one major improvement. No more taxi drivers cutting in front of me at traffic light turnings!

Haha driving is really fun. Pity I only had a onehour lesson today. Prolly was enough though.

written at 9:04 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20