old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2007-06-25 : Hokkien Mee
So there I was, buying hokkien mee for dinner at the hawker centre, and I tell the lady that the last few times I asked her not to add sotong, there was sotong in the pack nonetheless?

And she gets like totally worked up and like goes �dude, but we note what you order on a piece of paper!� and I�m like �but I ATE it!� and she�s like �woah you must be kidding that�s impossible� and then gestures again to the paper as well as the deaf hearing impaired guy behind the counter to confirm that they always check to make sure the food is cooked According To Your Preferences.

And by now I�m like �dude, whatever you say, I�ve been eating sotong! Eating it! So like somehow the sotong is getting in, even if you�re not putting it in.� So she�s got like nothing to say, cos like it�s obvious I can�t be eating not-sotong?

So anyway she made a Serious Note in her notebook and went on dishing out the hokkien mee. When I returned to take the mee, as she handed me the packet she said �no sotong ah! Two packets without sotong!� to which I cheerfully gave my most airheaded �thankeww� and walked off home, confident in the knowledge hoping that the packets would, indeed, not contain any sotong. As promised.

Actually I don�t mind the sotong and the packets weren�t for me, AND you can simply pick out the sotong while you�re eating, but it was the principle of the matter! I mean, what if some guy�s sotong-allergic and you give him hokkien mee with sotong inside and he goes home and finds that he can�t eat it? That would be TERRIBLE.

He might starve to death!

Ohnoes.

written at 6:31 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20