old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2007-01-16 : Jon Gan's Theorem of Campus Escape (or, building sandcastles in the sky)
Jon Gan�s Theorem of Campus Escape

Once a body attempts to leave campus past 6pm, time taken to exit campus is proportional to the number of minutes past 6pm squared.

Heck, it might even be cubed. If I leave campus at 6pm and the bus comes at 607 it usually takes me about 14 mins to get out. Unfortunately the bus came at 620 today, so it took me 400 minutes to get out of campus.

�wait that�s not right. I think it was more like 30 mins. Well anyway. Squared sounds cooler than doubled. ANYWAY! The point is that campus is nuts to get out of, no thanks to the 3 zebra crossings along lower kent ridge road that ALWAYS have people going across. 30 mins seems like 400 mins when you�re in a bus without airconditioning =(

I need a social life! Perhaps I should place myself on the open market? But that would be a bad idea, because the demand for jongan is so so so elastic, if you put him on the market, the value of jongan would instantly fall from zero to like minus-one-gazillion. So that�s a bad idea.

Perhaps you could give subsidies so that there would be SOME demand for jongan. But since you�d need too much subsidy I don�t think that�d work either.

I wonder what sort of good jongan is? Probably demerit good. Too much jongan makes you nuts. So there are negative externalities.

Oh man work is boring. The entry above is my remaining grey cells screaming out for someone to release them from hourly pay so they can go to the beach and build sandcastles.

Sandcastles =)

written at 9:48 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20