old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2006-10-04 : Gragh
Liek becos I�ve got liek no social life and stuff I�m gonna be focusing my affections on liek computers and stuff. Liek I know it�s the noob thing to do, but it�s liek a good way to not get bored and stuff?

We were calculating the other day, and realized that we�ll be earning about 48cents an hour in army. Or maybe it was 0.48 cents, I can�t really remember. Nah, must�ve been 48 cents. Anyway the point here is that while all the girls work at tuition centers and do relief teaching, we�ll be slogging our butts off (plus they have a longer break, recall) serving the nation. Plus they�ll be earning like 16x our pay. How cool is that.

I�m not anti NS or anything, but going by economic theory they should be compensating us for our opportunity cost forgone these two years. Admittedly we�ll be building greater bonds with our fellow countrymen, (and stuff) so that�s gotta be worth something, but�

I mean, I feel it�s gonna be tough when you come out of NS and go back to mugging after two years of not mugging. That�s two years of rusting in your brain! And although you technically get the same break as they do, (they get from �A�s to the time uni starts, you get from the time NS finishes til you get into uni,) once again economic theory states that when the return on investment arrives(i.e. our 3 months off from NS til Uni) plays a large part in how profitable the investment is.

I�m just worried I�ll come out brainwashed and a different person. Two years is a long time to have no social life for. A very long time. Plus when we come out, the girls will be mugging, so there won�t really be any celebration, will there?

Hopefully I�ll be proven wrong, or I�ll be able to save enough pay each month such that the mATX fantasy becomes reality faster, but either way it�s not really going to comfort me much.


written at 8:51 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20