old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2005-10-11 : Italy!

2500 SGD?!

Freakin' HELL, the computer cost less than that! Not that i don't want to go or anything, but the cost is rather prohibitive, isn't it? (understatement of the century)

I mean, it's all very well, going overseas to perform and everything, but we're gonna have to pay 2.5K(!!).

In case this hasn't sunken in yet:

2.5-freakin'-K!

Seriously, this is a LOT of money to be talking about. Not everyone is rich enough to afford this kind of cash, so if you're reading this and you're about to think "i don't see what the fuss is about" please stuff your head down your gold-plated toilet and drown out your inner voice.

So what if it's "relatively cheap"? the absolute sum still is quite incredible.

As i write this, the economist part of my brain is sort of screaming "what am I going to get out of this?

Lets not kid ourselves. this is going to do more for VJ Choir than us as individuals. I know i sound selfish saying this, but it's all very well to say "my name is VJChoir" when it's you only put in time (which is expected, of course. I mean, a choir without practice time? no way, man.)

but this is Money, man! I mean, real cash, real moolah, dough which my parents worked hard for! I honestly feel really bad asking them for 2.5k. This is honestly the MOST MONEY I HAVE EVER COST MY PARENTS AT ONE GO.

me:"Hi, i'm going to need 2.5K next year for a trip to Italy."
Fictional Pop:"why?"
me:"So we can go there and sing and win a prize!"
FP:"...right."

I'm not against going to Italy, i'm against the sum we have to pay. And the subsidy isn't going to be much. I'll be suprised if it tops 500 bucks.

SGD500 x 40 = SGD 20,000

Now that's quite a lot of money. Assuming the PCC (no, it stands for pre-christmas concert!)has 800 tix, we'll have to sell each ticket at about 25 bucks.

I don't know. It's just a lot of money, know what i'm saying?

written at 9:25 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20