old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2005-09-23 : Chem Skill B!
An entry!

Yesterday�s spa was kind of� Not very good. As I was heating my boiling tube for a second and final time, my dehydrated carbonate started to melt. Serious. And I was like, oh shit, because if the thing becomes liquid, when it cools the heat capacity of changing it back to solid is going to (prolly) remove enough heat from the boiling tube to make it crack.

So I sort of sloshed it onto the sides of the tube, where it dried instantly. Then, (very carefully) I reduced the heat applied to the tube by closing the gas tap slightly and lifting the tube higher above the flame. Eventually the thing solidified (or appeared to), anyway when I tilted it upside down nothing came out.

So I put it on the wire gauze and left it to cool. As I was writing my report, I heard an ominous tinkle from the tube. The damn thing was cracking. I rushed to switch on the flame and reheat it, but figured it was too late. Anyway. Gah.

It�s the worst sound you�ll hear when doing skill B for chem. �tinkle tinkle tinkle� + �crackle� = OMFGWTH!!11!

Haha but my readings were consistent so no worries (I think)

I still have the boiling tube (with solidified carbonate) inside it. It�s sitting on my P3 com table, leering at me with that twisted crack of a smile. My souvenir of a bad practical.

written at 8:01 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20