old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2004-06-30 : Blackout! Citizens left in the dark about the cause
Last night was rather dark. Well, duh. My block was one of those affected.. Haha actually it happened just as I was bringing the com out of standby, so I though the com had tripped the fuses or something� Then I went to the kitchen to try and reset the breakers, but as I stood up I saw this entire patch of blackness outside my window� Haha.

Yeah so at first I went to get my handphone cos the backlight is as good as any torch. Yar and I knew the AAtorch was in my cupboard and exactly where it was and where the AAbatteries were, so about half a minute after the lights went off, we had torchlight. We also had that rather old Dbatt torch on top of the fridge for emergencies such as this�

Haha. Then I was really sian.. Nothing to do, but the way the night looked was so nice.. so I snapped a pic of it. Haha. Two shots, in fact. I�ll scan them in and post them somewhere when they�re developed� Yeah then I went to dig out the older D batteries and that fluorescent lamp we used to bring along to the graveyard every year� Haha. So we had something close to normal light in certain areas of the house. Too bad there were only enough Ds to power one of the torches. We have two. Haha. So anyway I couldn�t be bothered so I went to bed at about 1045. Then I woke up at 1155 cos my mother said that the power was back on� Haha.

I woke up a few hours later because it was raining� I wasn�t really getting wet, but I woke up all the same� Ever since that day, I�ve become a light sleeper.,.. Odd, isn�t it? It sort of saps a portion of your energy. And I woke my mother up, who�s more a light sleeper than I am� It�s always she who gets up to close the windows while I�m lying there, dead to the world... haha. Not good.

School today was acceptable. Haha. I got most of the prac correct, with results within range... Woulda lost a few marks on sig figs. (approx. 3m) and 1m on the final result, which was anomalous� Ms Teng couldn�t understand why when my results were so ok� Haha. Then it was discovered that I had swapped the amounts of sodium thiosulpate (20.0cm� ) with the unknown MIO� solution� Haha. So stupid. But the prac was good overall� I did everything myself� didn�t have to ask anyone for answers. I should be able to get a1 for prac� If I don�t make anymore stupid mistakes of this sort� Haha.

********

Haha we wanted to use the mp3player to get the geog revision notes from mrs chin, but as usual when I say something jokingly it comes true� haha. I was joking that the player wouldn�t fit into the USB port.. Then it turned out it really couldn�t� ArgH! Haha because the port was partly blocked by the adapter cable, and we couldn�t remove it cos there was no battery in the laptop� evidently it was spoilt. So I�m bringing the USB extension cable tomorrow. Haha.

********

Oh and I was walking to the busstop today after school and as I was walking past the 30 bus stop on the other side of the road, I waved to angela, and she waved back and pointed behind me and it turns out that dawn was behind me. Haha. So we walked to the 12 bus stop.

Then Cheryl and Yiteng came. Turns out they were taking 12 as well. So anyway I went up first and found somewhere to sit down, and the seat beside me remained empty until the bus stop somewhere near the primary KC side. Haha. Then a lot of KC girls got up. These primary-school looking girls lahh. Then one sat beside me. Then her friend was still standing, and they wanted to talk or something, so she sort of moved in and I was like �what the hell?� But didn�t say anything la. Then she asked her friend to sit there and I was squashed on the inside of the seat. :S

*pained look*

Haha. Then Cheryl who was behind with yiteng was quite amused. Haha. Then at last they went to another free seat cos people got off the bus. So I was like yeah! Free seat at last and I just turned around to gesture something like that and as soon as I had finished gesturing this guy came from one of the seats behind and sat beside me.

0_o.

Lol. No more geog timed practice this Saturday. Whew. That gives me the entire weekend to study. Ohh and if anyone comes here just leave a tag yeah? My tagboard is starting to rot.

written at 9:09 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20