old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2004-01-05 : Orientation Finale Concert
There was a concert for the orientation finale today. We were dismissed at 12 to go for lunch. At 1245 we met at the choir room. Practiced until about 3 something, when we went onto the stage for the actual thing. I think most would think the performance good, especially those with untrained ears, but personally I felt the items we presented weren�t done so well.

I think better blending would have made a difference. And one more factor which I think cannot be changed; there were people whose singing was not blending with the rest of the choir. Namely, YaoXu. She was standing behind me all the time and all through the 2 songs, I heard her singing sharp. And it was the noticeable kind of sharp. I just hope the people in the audience thought it was the acoustics were bad or that her voice is more �xiang3 liang4� than the rest. For the sake of the choir, not out of any sympathy for her.

Ahhh! The April choir concert is going to be held in the ******** school auditorium again! Mrs. Loke said she wanted to save money. The lousy accustics will totally screw(!) up the concert. I think that this decision is demoralizing and will cause general dissatisfaction, as well as decrease the final satisfaction to be gained if the concert is successful. Well. It�s not my decision, and I don�t think I can do anything about this, so I�ll just have to resort to raving here.

Why not just spend the money and be done with it? At the same time, everyone feels prouder of the choir and the concert, they�ll feel they have more to live up to and will therefore work harder. Well. Like mentioned above, not my decision.

Auditions on Wednesday. Apparently there are a lot less guys this year in sec 1, and all the ccas are scrambling for guys. Mr Ang has very kindly(!) agreed to give us a FULL 8 GUYS. Wow. Just what we wanted. Well, a small percentage anyway. ****. We are the CCA which most needs the guys. Other CCAs can make do with less. WE, on the other hand, due to the shortage of guys, are now without a tenor SL and next year when my batch leaves, there�ll be neither bass nor tenor sl. Although I suppose we could put jeryl in. Yeah.

It�s no wonder we got only a silver for SYF. 3 Conductor changes, with less guys, and substandard choristers, and a hardworking :) committee which, I feel (no offense) has not the experience to bring the choir up. We need someone who is one with the songs, and can help us to be one with the song as well.

Actually, as SL, I shouldn�t be having all these sentiments, as I might seem anti-choir. Haha. (bitter laugh) Even though I really love the songs, With each practice and each decision, I see the choir moving further and further away from its former glory. With some drastic changes we might regain some of it, but as none of these changes are likely to happen in the foreseeable future, I think the choir *pause* is�.. *cue dramatic music* DOOMED!!!!!!! *evil laugh in background*.

Well, I seriously hope not, but hey, let�s be realistic for now. I just hope we can right these wrongs and regain our former glory.

************

Well, at the same time, I hope that I will be able to work harder with more discipline this year, and stop being obsessed with stuff and study like a good, mature sec 4 student. Same hopes for everyone else! Good luck for 2004!

written at 6:13 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20