old
design
Diaryland
; J.Gan



2003-12-20 : Genting trip logs
Taken From The Confidential Journal Of J.GaN

Ignition

Monday, 15.12.2003 3.17pm

The hotel rooms are really small. The hotel hasn�t cleaned behind the tv set, so it�s all dust there. Perhaps it�s because the tv set is bolted to the table. :S. There�s no shampoo, there�s no air con, just a fan, and the windows won�t open fully. First World Hotel my foot. The place is more like a third world hotel. The toilet is horrible, and there�s no privacy. What the toilet is is actually cubicles. One is a standing shower, the other is a toilet bowl, and both are only sealed off by sliding doors. There�s nowhere to take of your clothes unless you do so in the shower cubicle itself. Ugh.

What an eventful first day. On the way up, the bus we were in broke down when we were almost at the cable car station. The aircon was already off, and the back engine door was open. The bus had been groaning the entire way, but as we rounded the corner, it fell ominously silent, and we slid backward a few feet before the driver activated the brakes. We all got out. The bus driver did his best, and 5 mins after, the bus engine coughed to life. Thank god. Or I think we�d have had to lug our luggage up the mountain. Bleh.

The cable car ride was equally exciting. The 30 minute wait before it was not. However, once we were safely in the car, the view was breathtaking. As we went higher, we saw mist, and clouds came drifting into our cabin. However, all of us were slightly scared by the sight of the ground 500m below us. Cracking nervous jokes all the way up. Anyway, it was ok, overall, and I�m now in the (small) hotel room. Writing this.

Oh, and I had to sit with Pei En in the bus on the way up. She joined us at the causeway because her alarm apparently did not ring and she woke up at 6.45, when all of us were already in school. There was no space left, except for the seat beside me, so she sat there. All the seniors were delighted. More chances to tease jonathan about Pei En! Bleh.

Oh and I saw Chinglok as I was coming up to the room. Whee.

Tuesday, 16.12.2003 11.06 pm

Agh! Pei En and Melissa share the corner room and it�s so much bigger than all the other substandard rooms. About one bed more. Agh!!!!! When I was at the water dispenser getting water, pei en came out of her room and was grinning. She asked if I�d like to see her room, and I stupidly agreed. So I was suanned. We performed today, and personally I think it was the best version of Daemon we�ve ever done. Even when we win no prize, I will still be satisfied, knowing I�ve done my best, as has the rest of my section. Catholic High was pro. Their sops and basses were the most powerful I�ve ever heard. If you closed your eyes and listened to them, you�d swear their sops were girls.

A lot of the other choirs were lousy. Haha. Morale and ego boost. Heh. 5 hours free time tomorrow. We�re going to the outdoor theme park.

Wednesday, 17.12.2003 10.29 pm

Nothing much happened today, except that we went to the outdoor theme park and it was quite a waste of time. We only got to go on 3 rides. Should have gone earlier to avoid the queues. Rm30 for 3 rides. Bleh.

[Portion Censored]

Thursday, 18.12.2003 12.17 am

Just got back from bumper cars. We went out late and exceeded the 11.30pm curfew by 20 mins. Rushed into our rooms the second we came back but were unable to escape Mrs. Loke. She was watching. All of us got a light scolding, I guess it was light because she knew it was the last night and just wanted to warn us. So it was a light scolding.

Results are out and we have got a silver c. That�s about 3rd last, among 13 choirs. SiYing broke the news to me. She was wandering about with her vidcam in the lobby crying and when I saw her I tried to avoid her and go up to my room but she would have none of it and cried the sad tale to me of how we had got silver c and how it was so lousy. I tried to tell her to tell her not to take it so hard, but she just called me insensitive and said it was so obvious the judges didn�t like our interpretation of the songs and how the lousier choirs had done better than us and etcetcetc. All the time I was thinking, isn�t it our fault? What�s there to cry over? We can only blame ourselves.

So anyway finally got away and went up to room. Called Pei En, who was in room, and bored, so we agreed to play cards. Yeah and we both agreed that the silver c was what we deserved. If we had wanted to win, we should have auditioned the people, and chosen different songs which everyone wasn�t so sian with and we should have put in a lot more work! Instead of 8 practices in 2 weeks. I may offend some who read this but So There. This is one time I don�t care. Anyway, the day was fine overall. Must sleep soon.

OH and today with my free time I split up with the guys to go and explore the inside. Bought one ticket, intending to go on the indoor simulator. Queued up and thought to yesterday�s rides at the outdoor theme park, no one checked if I was wearing a ticket. So when it came to my turn to go in, I just walked in confidently without giving my ticket. Haha. So I went on the simulator twice without paying. Then I came out and went on the roller coaster. Boring. Yeah. The broken fragments of my day.

Too tired to write coherently anymore. Going to sleep. Have to have up at 6.am tmr.

Friday, 19.12.2003 12.20pm

On the bumpy bus home now. There was no morning call, so almost all the guys slept in. Except me, that is. I had set my hp alarm to wake me up. Really sleep. Zzzz.

written at 10:41 p.m.

previous
next
- - 2012-04-23
- - 2012-04-20
- - 2012-02-28
Wistful - 2012-01-22
- - 2012-01-20